Shop Authors A-Z Explore & Learn About Us Customer Service
The List About Featured Authors Feedback

Katherine Anne Porter

Birthplace: Indian Creek, Texas
Typewriter: IBM Selectric I

Katherine Anne Porter was an important American author, known mostly for her short stories and novel, Ship of Fools. Born in Texas, she spent most of her life outside of the state. She lived for long periods in New York City; Louisiana; California; and Washington, D.C.; as well as Mexico and Western Europe. Miss Porter's first published short story, "María Concepcíon," appeared in 1922; The Never-Ending Wrong, her last major work, was published in 1977. There were five major collections of her short stories published during her lifetime, including The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter (1965), which won a Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award. Ship of Fools was published in 1962, and The Collected Essays and Occasional Writings of Katherine Anne Porter in 1970.



Contact Us  FAQ  Order Status  Shipping  Returns  Search
Best Sellers  Portables  Desktops  Accessories  Gifts  Special Services  On Sale

Copyright ©2005,  All Rights Reserved   |  Privacy Policy

Shop Authors A-Z Explore & Learn All About Us Customer Service Site Map View Cart My Account